Take Care of Yourself

A special thanks to Dr. Michelle Robin, Your Wellness Connection as she featured me in her August Blog.  LINK

Like many, I have fond memories of being active in my childhood.  There was always something to do, explore, or be involved in and most, if not all of it, didn’t cost anything.  Good times consisted of two elements: being active and having fun. Fast forward to today, times have changed with the introduction of cell phones, computers and other advances in technology. Being active and playing outside has become secondary to computer time and schedules with limited physical exercise. What message is this giving our children? Are we teaching our children TCOY?

Today, people of all ages are suffering physically, psychologically and financially due to lack of being active. Chronic disease has reached epidemic rates. If nothing changes, it’s not a matter of if you’ll be sick, but when.

In 1999, I enlarged my coaching arena from racquetball to include wellness. TCOY Wellness provides the guidelines and coaching necessary to empower the wellness mindset and lifestyle.  TCOY = Take Care of You. The same disciplines and mindset I used to become a world-class professional athlete are provided in my TCOY Wellness Experience Training Program.

The first thing the program addresses in starting a life-changing wellness journey is to know your why. Why do you want to be healthy? It’s essential to understand your priorities and put emotion to it.

My initial “why” to be healthy was so I could be a professional athlete. My “why” changed when I became a divorced mother. Everything in my world was centered around being the best parent possible and meant I needed to take care of myself so I could take care of my daughter.  Shortly after, TCOY Wellness was launched so I could also help others improve their quality of life.

Wellness is easy to do, but it’s also easy not to do. Most people fail because they feel over-whelmed and quit, or never even try. TCOY Wellness empowers and encourages. “What if” is seen as a positive visualization of the life you want to live, full of joy and vitality.

At the foundation of the program is simple movement, gratitude and laughter. Whatever activity you choose, make it fun and sustainable. Learn to be kind to yourself and others. Laughter puts everything in perspective and is an instant vacation.

Racquetball is my lifetime sport. It gives me great joy physically, mentally and socially. What’s yours? Explore and find an activity that you will look forward to doing and then immerse yourself in scheduling time to do it. This new perspective will change how you view fitness fun; it can be called a “fun-out” instead of a “workout.”

Take time to improve your physical well-being and it will positively impact all areas of your life.  If you want more vitality, something needs to change. Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Whatever your age, the body needs movement. A workout is a reboot for the mind, body and spirit. TCOY is more than a mantra, it’s a way of life!

In 2015, I became the Health & Wellness coach for TVH Americas. TVH is a global parts and manufacturing company with 900 employees. My focus has been to create and develop a healthy workplace that also empowers employees. The wellness mindset and lifestyle I share impacts not only the employees, but their family and friends; thereby creating a rippling effect into the community and beyond.

Being able to help others improve their quality of life is my calling in life. So often, it’s simply a matter of putting things in perspective and encouraging people along the journey. Former US President John Quincy Adams said it well,

“The influence of each human being on others in this life is a kind of immortality.”

Life is as complicated as we make. Daily choices matter and a healthier lifestyle starts when you are ready to make your health a priority. I recall a client telling me,

“I think you care more about my health than I do.” My response, “A coach sees your potential before you do.”

Another client with Parkinson’s who suffers with a lot of pain and tremors now plays racquetball ten hours a week and has told me, “When I play, it’s the only time I’m not in pain. The workouts have dramatically improved my quality of life.”

A group of ladies participated in a racquetball clinic on a Saturday morning. When I saw them on Monday, I asked what they thought and if they’d be back. They replied, “Oh, our sides hurt so bad afterwards.” I looked at them a little confused and she added,

“Our sides hurt from laughing so much…that was so much fun!!”

Once again, it was not a workout but a “fun-out.”

The TCOY Wellness program approaches wellness from a completely unique perspective. With over 30 years of coaching experience and walking the talk, my real life approach of building layers upon layers of simple, fun and sustainable actions has transformed hundreds of lives. The complete program consists of 40 weeks of 30-minute weekly class sessions. Think of it in these terms. A full term pregnancy is 40 weeks. Retraining habits, creating the right mindset, and learning how to live the wellness lifestyle will take 40 weeks as well.

The gift of wellness is a gift that you give yourself.  It begins and ends with you.
TCOY… for the health of it. Action Required!

Coach LucyWith over three decades as a professional racquetball player and coach, Lucy DelSarto has what it takes to demonstrate and teach wellness like no one else.  She lives and breathes wellness and determination on and off the court; and has done so throughout her life making her a key mentor and role model for all who come in contact with her.  Lucy’s combination of captivating public speaking skills, practical and comprehensive knowledge of health and wellness, unique style in motivating others and keeping them motivated, all entwined with quick wit and humor makes Lucy the total package you don’t want to miss!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

