tcoy banner

~ March 2013 Newsletter ~

The Inspiration Behind “TEAM KUPISH”

When was the last time you did something that really pushed you to go the “extra mile,” emotionally and physically? What motivated you and kept you motivated?

I’ve learned through decades of experience and coaching, the motivation that withstands the physical and emotional challenges is internal and fueled with self-determination.  I like to compare this type of motivation to integrity because it involves doing whatever it takes, even when no one is watching.

During the last weekend of February, the ACOP 8th Annual Winter Classic Racquetball tournament added an LPRT (Ladies Professional Racquetball Tour) stop to the event. Competitors in this event are the world’s top female racquetball players.

Almost thirty years ago, I played on the tour and was ranked in the “Top 16”. It was an awesome experience and an exciting time in my life.  I was living the dream.

When I was eighteen, I recall my oldest brother, Joe, asking me what I wanted to do in life, specifically “what’s your dream?”  I replied, I wanted to be a professional racquetball player.

We talked about “my dream” and he could sense my passion and determination.  Because Joe believed I could achieve my dream, he offered me the opportunity to move out to the west coast with him as the first step toward making my dream a reality. The rest is history! Decades later I am still competing, but mainly in men’s doubles.

My beloved brother was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease years ago and is now a prisoner in his own body.  Although I can’t take away his pain, I wanted to show my love and appreciation for him.

Inspired by TEAM HOYT; I came up with “Team Kupish”  (my maiden name) and would share my training when we talked on the phone.  I saw this as a perfect opportunity to honor Joe by competing, once again, in the Pro division.

Although it has been many years since I played singles at this skill level, my goal was set.  I would play three divisions: Pro Qualifying Singles, Women’s Open and the Mixed Open Doubles.  I set my sights on making it to the “Round of 16″ in the Pro’s and into the doubles finals.

The training required a lot of discipline and commitment.  For motivation, I held onto the spirit of why I was doing this and it paid off.  Just like in Toby Mac’s song, “Steal My Show,” I’m still smiling at how everything came together. I’m pleased to share that I made it into the “Round of 16” in the Pro’s, the semi-finals of the Women’s Open Singles and WON the Mixed Open Doubles division.

Let me suggest a TCOY Challenge to help inspire and empower you:  Work out for someone who can’t.  When you find yourself feeling like you don’t have the time or energy to workout, think about someone who is physically unable to move. Workout in their honor and let them know they are your inspiration.  This is the Champion Mindset I want others to embrace.

The focus is well-being…head, heart and body. Stop comparing yourself to others. Be kind to yourself and always remember that you have your own unique path to walk in this life.  You are only given one body, take care of it.

Until next month…TCOY!

          Coach Lucy
  • To subscribe to my TCOY monthly newsletter,  CLICK HERE.
  • See the full version of The Inspiration Behind “Team Kupish”
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

