Don’t Rust Away!

tcoy banner

Life can be overwhelming and expensive. Some good advice I was given decades ago, and often recommend to others, is “keep up on your maintenance”.  This wisdom applies to your health as well as homes, autos and anything you value.

A couple weeks ago, as I pulled my Highlander out of the garage and onto my driveway, my routine was altered. I clicked my remote to close the garage door and nothing happened. I tried the touch pad, still nothing.  Next I went inside and pressed the button on the wall, again, nothing.

I checked the light switch thinking perhaps there was a power outage.  No, the lights worked just fine.

Needing to get to an appointment, I decided to close the door manually by releasing the emergency lever and dropping it down.  At the half way point, the door sped up and SNAP…BOOM…BANG ~ it crashed to the ground!

Fortunately, I was not under it but, obviously, I was quite startled.  All I could think of was how blessed I was that no one was hurt.  Although the door did not come off the tracks, it was now resting lopsided as if it were giving a crooked smile.

Image

My next step was to contact a company to get the door repaired.  One of my brothers has worked for Overhead Door for decades and, even though he lives in a different state, I called him for insight.  He concluded a cable had broken and I needed to put in a service call.

I also have a friend who works at the local Overhead Door, so I was confident this was the right company to call because I trusted and valued their opinions.  Since it wasn’t an emergency, I scheduled an appointment for the following morning.

The technician arrived and immediately determined that the cable loop had rusted out and needed to be replaced.  It was impressive how efficiently he worked, quickly taking the steps to safely replace the cable, checking the springs and safety of the door.  Within forty minutes, problem solved and my door was working perfectly again.  Two thumbs up for excellent customer service and the professional technician at Overhead Door.

Through the years, I’ve learned the importance of networking with friends and family.  They provide the best referrals and insight, especially in areas where I may have little knowledge or experience.  Back in the old days, prior to internet, everyone relied on word of mouth and used the “Yellow Pages” to provide business names and phone numbers.

Funny side note, a few years ago when my home internet was down, my daughter needed an address for a store.  I suggested she look it up in the “Yellow Pages”.  She looked at me as if I was speaking a foreign language. Ironically, she had never used a phone book before and didn’t know what I was talking about. Wow… time warp. This holiday season have some fun with someone under sixteen by sharing the “Yellow Pages” and talk about phone booths.

2012 Prom n Hug Day KC 101
Yes, times are changing rapidly but word of mouth remains my first resource of choice.  A recommendation is only as good as the source it came from and anyone can say anything on the internet, ask people you trust and provide the same to courtesy to others. As a wellness ambassador and coach, people reach out to me for advice and assistance regarding their health or lack of health.  I thoroughly enjoy assisting, educating and empowering others as well as being a resource to connect people and services.  I see referrals as gestures of trust.

 

I am in awe of technology and find it fascinating but the “buy new” mentality has consumed us and it does not apply to health and relationships.  The technology revolution is about upgrades not maintenance.  Good health and quality relationships require thinking long-term and maintenance and care are required.

Accidents and genetics represent a very small portion of the health related causes of death.  In the 2010 survey, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention lists the top ten Leading Causes of Death indicated every day chronic diseases are killing us.  We are rusting out in life.  The good news our body responds well to change; however, things don’t change, we change.  Either you are making choices to support a healthy lifestyle or not. Choosing to do nothing is a choice.

Neglect and abuse are the rust factors in our lives.  The medical world is outstanding in trauma care; however, chronic care is a trillion dollar industry focusing on “managed care,” which can be dramatically improved by your lifestyle choices.  Pharmaceutical drugs or surgeries are often like applying duct tape or WD-40; they might work temporarily, but it is not addressing the “why” it is happening.  Symptoms are not the cause, habits are.

If you are ready to address “the why” and improve your health and well-being, learn to develop a Champion Wellness Mindset – for the health of it, my TCOY Wellness  coaching is for you.  We focus on total wellness (head, heart and body) to enhance your quality of life.  Action Is Required! 

Listen to your body, if you don’t sooner or later it will get your attention.  Don’t rust away in life. Let’s do wellness together…Take Care of You!

Coach Lucy

If you don’t take care of your body, where will you live?

Comments on: "Don’t Rust Away!" (3)

  1. Thanks for your hard work, Coach Lucy! :)

  2. Deanna Pucci said:

    Good sound advice.

  3. Thanks for a great article!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

