What’s next? Empty Nest

Sept. e-newsletter:  Empty Nest

You’ve heard it said that, “time waits for no one and change is inevitable.” This truism resonated with me this past month as I took my daughter to college for her freshman year. I realized that my time as full-time mom has drawn to a close and I am now beginning a new time in life with my child living away from me. It’s the beginning of a new and different relationship for us as she moves into adulthood.

*Enjoy this short but priceless YouTube video on ducklings leaving the nest.  Note, audio definitely enhances it.

The excitement of going off to college had been building for some time and everything went smoothly as we prepared for this new chapter in her life.  Tears of joy and concern were shed as we embraced and said our goodbyes.  It wasn’t until later that night that the train wreck of emotions occurred.

Yes, I was officially an “Empty Nester”.  During the previous days of packing, our dog was constantly by our side, instinctively knowing a big change was occurring and that first night we were like two lost souls missing my daughter’s presence.

The next few days the void continued but I cherished the text messages and phone calls from her.  Always one to embrace a challenge and a new journey, I knew in my heart this ache would pass and prove to be a wonderful experience and stepping stone to BIG things.

Three days later my heartache gave way to joy when I received a Facebook message saying, “Hey mom. I know I’ve called you three times today, that’s why I’m writing on your wall. I think I’m going to come home over Labor Day weekend. May I put in a request for a homemade meal and a movie night? I love you. goodnight :)”

Parenting enriches one’s life in so many ways.  Elizabeth Stone sums it up well, “Making the decision to have a child is momentous.  It is to decide, forever, to have your heart go walking around outside your body.” We are also role models for their health and well-being. Proverbs 22:6: “Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.”

A couple years after my daughter was born the movie Fly Away Home was released and it deeply touched my heart.  The movie remains one of my all-time favorites. It takes you through the heartache of a young teenage girl’s tragic loss and on her journey to find herself as she stands for something she is willing to fight for.  She develops confidence from taking action and pursuing her dreams to make a difference.  I’d highly recommend it for family viewing.

Often we go through the motions of life not realizing how impactful our daily actions are.  The recent showcase of the 2012 Olympics provided an excellent opportunity to hear stories about the committed athletes, parents and coaches.  Every day we are given choices and opportunities that can improve our life.  Nothing is insignificant, everything matters in some way. Choose to be pro-active with your health for your benefit and for those you love, they’re watching.

This e-newsletter is dedicated to my daughter, as she begins her journey.  We all can benefit from the Miley Cyrus song “The Climb”  as it provides great inspiration in the lyrics “Keep moving. Keep on climbing.  Keep the faith.  It’s about the climb”.  Remember to embrace life with a passion and seek to see the opportunities within the challenges. Go after your dreams, in short: Live, Love and Laugh…no regrets.

Until next month…TCOY!

Coach Lucy


And like a butterfly…

Are you ready in developing the TCOY Wellness Mindset? Action is required.

   TCOY…If you don’t take care of YOUR body, where will you live?

You is kind. You is smart.  You is important.
Kathryn Stockett (The book & movie THE HELP)The most important thing in life is to stop saying ‘I wish’ and start saying ‘I will.’ 

Consider nothing impossible, then treat possibilities as probabilities.
Charles Dickens

It’s time to start living the life you’ve imagined. 
Henry James (and your mom)

Follow TCOY Wellness on Twitter, Facebook and my  BLOG.


Also featured in these Magazine Articles, August 2012:

*Living Well
*KC Health & Wellness: Inspiring Performance and a Healthier Lifestyle

Radio Interview:
How To Create A Wellness Mindset

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

