The Power of One

Everyone…yes every one of us has the ability to make an impact on others with our words and actions or lack of them. The story of the starfish which flooded the beaches after a storm is a perfect example. A woman was reaching down, picking starfish up that had be left on the beach after the tide had gone back out. She was throwing them back into the ocean one at a time. A man walked by and commented: What are you doing? There are hundreds if not thousands of starfish on this beach. You certainly don’t believe you can make a difference do you? The woman continued her efforts, reaching down, tossing a starfish into the ocean and replied: I made a difference with that one.

How about the power of words? Think about the last time you received an encouraging word or vote of confidence in your abilities or character from someone you respect. How did those words impact you? Or, just as powerful, think about a time when you needed an encouraging word and didn’t get one. How might things have turned out differently for you knowing someone believed in you?

Simple acts of kindness can have lasting and powerful impact. During my recent “Global Hugs Day in KC” (), I was deeply touched by one of the first people I hugged. I approached him and stated: “today is Global Free Hug Day…would you like a FREE HUG?” He paused for just a second and then stood up from the park bench. We embraced in a hug and he also shared a hugs with my fellow huggers who had joined me for an hour of FREE HUGGING. The best part, about 15 minutes later, this man came back up to me as I was walking around and asked if he could speak with me for moment. I said: Absolutely. What’s up? His eyes were full of joy and tears as he spoke. “I came down here, to the park, because I was having a really tough day, a tough week actually. Times are really hard right now and I was feeling pretty low. Then you came up to me, out of no where with a smile and hug. A glimmer of hope came upon me. Thank you. Thank you so much for reaching out and sharing. Your hug meant a lot to me.” Wow…I got chocked up and tears of happiness filled my eyes as I reached out and gave him another hug. Never underestimate the power of your words and actions! You can make a difference.

Enjoy the poem, my friend Janna Rust, Coach and Founder of Purposeful Partnerships shared in her recent e-newsletter. Remember, we don’t necessarily remember days, we remember MOMENTS. TCOY

The Power of One

-Author Unknown

One song can spark a moment
One flower can wake the dream
One tree can start a forest
One bird can herald spring

One smile begins a friendship
One handclasp lifts a soul
One star can guide a ship at sea
One word can frame the goal

One vote can change a nation
One sunbeam lights a room
One candle wipes out darkness
One laugh will conquer doom

One step must start each journey
One word must start each prayer
One hope will raise our spirits
One touch can show you care

One voice can speak with wisdom
One heart can know what’s true
One life can make the difference
You see, it’s up to you!

Make a difference today and everyday…chose to be a voice of encouragement and compliment others. No one knows the burdens of stranger and you could be the light of hope they need at that moment. Leaders know the power of one. Share your story…I’d love to here how you are “paying it forward” to make a difference! TCOY

Comments on: "The Power of One…never doubt it!" (1)

  1. Lucy, thanks for quoting me and for putting this poem in your blog. I’m flattered. You’ve added some nice touches here too with the starfish story and your own personal experiences on “Hugs Day”. You made that one man’s day…hard telling how you made those others feel who didn’t come back to tell you their story.

    Keep making a difference. You are an encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

