As I enter a new decade in my life, I feel empowered and love educating others about how to be healthy and stay healthy. I don’t get caught up in useless numbers and your biological age is one of those numbers.  Your attitude and lifestyle are the largest contributors to health – much more than the number of years, which is why I ask and share my mantra often, “If you don’t take care of your body, where will you live?”

Although our world thrives on instilling fear and negativism, I encourage you to choose the higher ground and go the other direction.  If you do what the masses are doing you can expect to get what they’re getting – unhealthy and unhappy lives.

Change your thinking, change your life.  The definition of “perspective” is a mental view or outlook.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?  What wisdom would you give to a younger you?  Who has influenced you the most about to how to live life?  Where do you see yourself one, five or ten years from now?  If not now, when will you take action?

Days come and go.  We all have the same number of hours in a day yet some people are happier and less stressed than others.  Life is not easy.  The wise have learned how to find joy and peace even during the struggles and storms.

Football coach, Lou Holtz, had a great perspective on life as demonstrated by this quote: “Life is ten percent what happens to you and ninety percent how you respond to it.”  Life is challenging. How are you responding to it?

My Take Care of You philosophy was actually passed down from my parents.  The foundation of wisdom is something I pay forward in my coaching and wellness programs.  With a good foundation, you are strong and can weather the storms.  True wellness is about balance and addressing the head, heart and body.  It’s not about perfection, it’s a personal best.

This month legendary actor, Andy Griffith, passed away at age eighty-six.  His legacy and The Andy Griffith Show impacted generations with laughter, comfort and joy. Whistle along and enjoy the memories while watching this YouTube clip from the TV show.

In recent years we’ve seen social media change the landscape of our world.  Technology has brought many advances and benefits in communication.  Although it’s common to children today, it still amazes me how much things have changed in just fifty years.

In the 70’s and 80’s the late night TV show SNL (Saturday Night Live) had some of the funniest actors and skits.  The social media site YouTube has endless videos and I enjoy sharing links from it. Although I did not see the original airing of the SNL skit with Gilda Rader, “I’m 50”, someone shared it on facebook last year and I knew I would have to do a “Lucy” version.  The two links below are a reminder to laugh, stretch, kick and stretch beyond your comfort zones.

ORIGINAL SNL “I’m 50”       Lucy’s spoof -“I’m 50”

No matter what your age, everyone wants to be loved, respected, laugh and be healthy so they can enjoy life.  That, my friend, is what TCOY Wellness is all about.  As you can see, I am proudly wearing my “50th Crown”.

Until next month…TCOY!  Coach Lucy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,571 other followers

